Ashleee Karen

Made it 4 months celibate…now what??

The Single Alumni

Posted by ashleeekaren on August 31, 2010


Just got off the phone with my high school alumni association. They had sent me a flier in the mail asking for my info for the alumni directory. As a business owner I felt it was a good idea to put myself in there – you never know who might call wanting to give me business.

Anyway, they asked the usual questions like, what degrees or certifications do I have, what is my email address, etc. etc. The BEST questions were these:

Them: “It’s been nearly 14 years since you graduated. Any name changes since high school?”

Me: “No, no name change.”

Them: “So you have not married since high school?”

Me: “No, never been married.”

Them: “Any children?”

Me: “No, no children…”

Them: “Well…that’s ok…!”

DAMN RIGHT IT’S OK! Why is being single and childless have to be something that people feel like they need to feel sorry for you. Or say stupid crap like, “Well….that’s ok…!”

I have 2 degrees under my belt, have been practicing law for 5 years, am a business owner, and I’m only 31. I think I’m doing alright – I don’t need some random lady on the alumni association directory committee feeling sorry for me.

2 Responses to “The Single Alumni”

  1. ASF said

    Two degrees, your law practice are nice achievements, but they aren’t that important. You haven’t lost enough to know what’s truly valuable.

    • I suppose what is important is all relative. These accomplishments are important to me since I worked very hard and very long to make these things happen. Are they the most important things in the world? No of course not. Family, friends – THOSE things are more important to me than anything. All those acomplishments would mean nothing unless I had someone to share them with.

      What I was trying to say was that being married is not the only way in which to measure a person’s growth or value. From the tone of your comment (and maybe I’m just being sensitive) it would seem you are implying that any value I place on my acheivements would seem to indicate a shallow nature on my part simply because you believe that I haven’t lost anything.

Leave a Reply

 
